CITY OF LONG BEACH AIRPORT ADVISORY COMMISSION MINUTES

THURSDAY, JANUARY 20, 2022 TELECONFERENCE, 4:00 PM

Miles Nevin, Chair Katie Larson, Vice Chair Jeffrey Anderson, Commissioner Christine Bos, Commissioner



Wayne Chaney Sr., Commissioner Robert Duarte, Commissioner Mireya LaFarga, Commissioner Geetanjali Reuben, Commissioner Dede Rossi, Commissioner

FINISHED AGENDA AND MINUTES

AIRPORT ADVISORY COMMISSION MEETING VIA TELECONFERENCE PURSUANT TO AB 361 (GOV. CODE SECTION 54953(e)(1)-(2))

CALL TO ORDER

At 4:01 p.m., Chair Nevin called the meeting to order.

ROLL CALL

Commissioners Jeffrey Anderson, Christine Bos, Robert Duarte, Mireya Present: LaFarga, Geetanjali Reuben, Dede Rossi and Miles Nevin Commissioners Wayne Chaney Sr. and Katie Larson Excused:

WELCOME NEW COMMISSIONERS

Chair Nevin spoke.

Commissioner LaFarga spoke.

Commissioner Rossi spoke.

1 22-001AC Recommendation to approve the minutes from the meeting of the Airport Advisory Commission on November 18, 2021.

A motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Bos, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Jeffrey Anderson, Christine Bos, Robert Duarte, Mireya LaFarga, Geetanjali Reuben, Dede Rossi and Miles Nevin

Excused: 2 - Wayne Chaney Sr. and Katie Larson

PUBLIC COMMENT

Joe Mello spoke.

2 22-002AC

Recommendation to receive and file presentation regarding the LGB Business Partner Spotlight.

Cynthia Guidry, Director, spoke.

Kate Kuykendall, Public Affairs Officer, presented the report.

A motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Duarte, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Jeffrey Anderson, Christine Bos, Robert Duarte, Mireya LaFarga, Geetanjali Reuben, Dede Rossi and Miles Nevin

Excused: 2 - Wayne Chaney Sr. and Katie Larson

3 22-003AC

Recommendation to review and update Commissioner assignments to City Councilmembers for the purpose of providing briefings to Councilmembers regarding activities of the Airport Advisory Commission.

Ken Mason, Executive Assistant, spoke.

Chair Nevin spoke.

Commissioner Rossi spoke.

Commissioner Duarte spoke.

A dialog ensued.

Joe Mello spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner Bos, seconded by Commissioner Anderson, to approve recommendation:

District 1

Commissioner Anderson

District 2

Commissioner Rossi

District 3

Commissioner Reuben

District 4

Commissioner Larson

District 5

Commissioner Bos

District 6

Commissioner Chaney

District 7

Chair Nevin

District 8

Commissioner LaFarga

District 9

Commissioner Duarte

The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Jeffrey Anderson, Christine Bos, Robert Duarte, Mireya LaFarga, Geetanjali Reuben, Dede Rossi and Miles Nevin

Excused: 2 - Wayne Chaney Sr. and Katie Larson

4 22-004AC

Recommendation to appoint member to the Airport Public Viewing Area Committee.

Juan Lopez-Rios, Deputy Director, spoke.

Ken Mason spoke.

Commissioner Rossi spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner Duarte, seconded by Commissioner Anderson, to appoint Commissioner Rossi to the Public Viewing Area Committee. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Jeffrey Anderson, Christine Bos, Robert Duarte, Mireya LaFarga, Geetanjali Reuben, Dede Rossi and Miles Nevin

Excused: 2 - Wayne Chaney Sr. and Katie Larson

5 22-005AC

Recommendation to appoint member to the Sustainability Committee.

Chair Nevin spoke.

Ken Mason spoke.

Juan Lopez-Rios spoke.

Chair Nevin spoke.

Commissioner Bos spoke.

Commissioner LaFarga spoke.

A substitute motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Duarte, to accept Chair Nevin's resignation from the Sustainability Committee and appoint Commissioners LaFarga and Bos. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Jeffrey Anderson, Christine Bos, Robert Duarte, Mireya LaFarga, Geetanjali Reuben, Dede Rossi and Miles Nevin

Excused: 2 - Wayne Chaney Sr. and Katie Larson

6 <u>22-006AC</u>

Recommendation to receive and file report from the Public Viewing Area Committee.

Matthew Brookes, Airport Properties Officer, presented the report.

Commissioner Anderson spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner LaFarga, seconded by Commissioner Duarte, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Jeffrey Anderson, Christine Bos, Robert Duarte, Mireya LaFarga, Geetanjali Reuben, Dede Rossi and Miles Nevin

Excused: 2 - Wayne Chaney Sr. and Katie Larson

7 22-007AC

Recommendation to receive and file report from the Sustainability Committee.

Ryan McMullan, Noise & Environmental Affairs officer, presented the report.

A motion was made by Commissioner Duarte, seconded by Commissioner Bos, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Jeffrey Anderson, Christine Bos, Robert Duarte, Mireya LaFarga, Geetanjali Reuben, Dede Rossi and Miles Nevin

Excused: 2 - Wayne Chaney Sr. and Katie Larson

8 <u>22-008AC</u>

Recommendation to receive and file Monthly Airport Staff Reports for January 2022.

Cynthia Guidry spoke.

Claudia Lewis, Manager of Administration & Finance, presented a report.

Mony Chhey, Financial Services Officers, presented the Monthly Activity Report.

Ron Reeves, Operations and Facilities Bureau Manager, presented the Operations report.

Ryan McMullan presented the Monthly Noise Report.

Kate Kuykendall presented the Public Affairs report.

Commissioner Reuben spoke.

Cynthia Guidry spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner LaFarga, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 6 - Jeffrey Anderson, Christine Bos, Mireya LaFarga, Geetanjali Reuben, Dede Rossi and Miles Nevin

Excused: 2 - Wayne Chaney Sr. and Katie Larson

Absent: 1 - Robert Duarte

9 22-009AC

Recommendation to excuse Commissioners absent from the meeting of the Airport Advisory Commission on January 20, 2022.

A motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner LaFarga, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 6 - Jeffrey Anderson, Christine Bos, Mireya LaFarga, Geetanjali Reuben, Dede Rossi and Miles Nevin

Excused: 2 - Wayne Chaney Sr. and Katie Larson

Absent: 1 - Robert Duarte

CORRESPONDENCE

COMMISSIONER CITY COUNCIL LIAISON REPORTS

COMMENTS FROM COMMISSIONERS

Chair Nevin spoke.

PUBLIC COMMENT

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Anderson moved to adjourn the meeting at 5:14 p.m.