Alvaro Castillo, Chair Wayne Chaney Sr., Vice Chair Jeffrey Anderson, Commissioner Katie Larson, Commissioner Rita Nayak, Commissioner



Miles Nevin, Commissioner Geetanjali Reuben, Commisioner Jeff Rowe, Commissioner Mary Sophiea, Commissioner

FINISHED AGENDA AND MINUTES

AIRPORT ADVISORY COMMISSION MEETING VIA TELECONFERENCE PURSUANT TO EXECUTIVE ORDER N-29-20 ISSUED BY GOVERNOR GAVIN NEWSOM

CALL TO ORDER

At 4:00 p.m., Chair Castillo called the meeting to order.

ROLL CALL

Commissioners Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin,

Present: Geetanjali Reuben, Mary Sophiea and Jeffrey Anderson

Commissioners Jeff Rowe

Excused:

Commissioners Wayne Chaney Sr.

Absent:

1 <u>20-030AC</u>

Recommendation to approve the minutes from the meeting of the Airport Advisory Commission on June 18, 2020.

Commissioners Present:

Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney Sr. and Jeffrey Anderson

Commissioners Excused:

Jeff Rowe

A motion was made by Chair Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Larson, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 8 - Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney Sr. and Jeffrey Anderson

Excused: 1 - Jeff Rowe

PRESENTATION TO COMMISSIONER JEFFREY ANDERSON ACKNOWLEDGING HIS SERVICE AS CHAIR OF THE AIRPORT ADVISORY COMMISSION

Chair Castillo spoke.

Commissioner Anderson spoke.

NEW BUSINESS

2 <u>20-033AC</u> Recommendation to schedule a Special Meeting of the Airport Advisory Commission to be held August 20, 2020.

Chair Castillo spoke.

Commissioner Nevin spoke.

Commissioner Larson spoke.

Commissioner Sophiea spoke.

Chair Castillo spoke.

A dialog ensued.

Commissioners Present:

Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney Sr., Jeffrey Anderson and Jeff Rowe

A motion was made by Commissioner Nevin, seconded by Commissioner Larson, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 8 - Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney Sr. and Jeffrey Anderson

Abstain: 1 - Jeff Rowe

3 <u>20-035AC</u> Recommendation to receive and file presentation on 2020 Census.

Julian Cernuda, 2020 Census Project Manager, made a presentation.

Commissioner Rowe spoke.

A dialog ensued.

Commissioner Sophiea spoke.

Julian Cernuda spoke.

A dialog ensued.

Chair Castillo spoke.

Julian Cernuda spoke.

Commissioner Nayak spoke.

A dialog ensued.

Commissioner Rowe spoke.

Julian Cernuda spoke.

A dialog ensued.

A motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Sophiea, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 9 - Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney Sr., Jeffrey Anderson and Jeff Rowe

4	<u>20-034AC</u>	Recommendation to receive and file presentation from Aeroplex Aerolease Group on solar power installation at the Long Beach Airport.
		Cynthia Guidry, Director, spoke.
		Curt Castagna, Aeroplex/Aerolease, made a presentation.
		Chair Castillo spoke.
		A dialog ensued.
		Commissioner Rowe spoke.
		Curt Castagna spoke.
		A dialog ensued.
		Commissioner Anderson spoke.
		Curt Castagna spoke.
		Cynthia Guidry spoke.
		A dialog ensued.
		Chair Castillo spoke.
		Curt Castagna spoke.
		A dialog ensued.
		Commissioner Nayak spoke.
		Curt Castagna spoke.
		A dialog ensued.

Cynthia Guidry spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner Rowe, seconded by Commissioner Anderson, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 9 - Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney Sr., Jeffrey Anderson and Jeff Rowe

5 <u>20-031AC</u> Recommendation to receive and file monthly Airport Staff Reports for July 2020.

Cynthia Guidry presented the Director's report.

Mony Chhey, Financial Services Officer, presented the Finance report.

Chair Castillo spoke.

A dialog ensued.

Commissioner Anderson spoke.

Mony Chhey spoke.

Stephan Lum, Senior Civil Engineer, spoke.

Commissioner Anderson spoke.

A dialog ensued.

Chair Castillo spoke.

Cynthia Guidry spoke.

Ron Reeves, Operations & Facilities Bureau Manager, presented the Operations report.

Kate Kuykendall, Public Affairs Officer, presented the Public Affairs report.

Cynthia Guidry spoke.

Commissioner Rowe spoke.

Ron Reeves spoke.

A dialog ensued.

A motion was made by Commissioner Nevin, seconded by Commissioner Sophiea, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 9 - Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney Sr., Jeffrey Anderson and Jeff Rowe

6 20-032AC

Recommendation to receive and file report from the Public Viewing Area Committee.

Commissioner Rowe presented a report.

Matthew Brookes, Airport Properties Officer, spoke.

Chair Castillo spoke.

Commissioner Anderson spoke.

Commissioner Rowe spoke.

Matthew Brookes spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Sophiea, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 9 - Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney Sr., Jeffrey Anderson and Jeff Rowe

7 20-029AC

Recommendation to excuse Commissioners absent from the Airport Advisory Commission meeting on July 16, 2020.

Chair Castillo spoke.

Commissioner Sophia left the meeting.

A motion was made by Commissioner Sophiea, seconded by Commissioner Rowe, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 8 - Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Wayne Chaney Sr., Jeffrey Anderson and Jeff Rowe

Absent: 1 - Mary Sophiea

CORRESPONDENCE

COMMISSIONER CITY COUNCIL LIAISON REPORTS

Commissioner Rowe spoke.

Chair Castillo spoke.

Commissioner Larson spoke.

COMMENTS FROM COMMISSIONERS

Chair Castillo spoke.

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Anderson moved to adjourn the meeting at 6:22 p.m.