CITY OF LONG BEACH TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION COMMISSION MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 23, 2019 333 W. OCEAN BOULEVARD COUNCIL CHAMBER, 3:30 PM

Gwen Shaffer, Chair David W. Ferrell, Vice Chair Robb Korinke, Commissioner Lisa Mae Brunson, Commissioner



Justin Hectus, Commissioner Evan Marquardt, Commissioner Parisa Vinzant, Commissioner

FINISHED AGENDA & FINAL MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING - 3:30 P.M.

ROLL CALL (3:31 P.M.)

Commissioners Lisa Mae Brunson, Justin Hectus, Evan Marquardt, Gwen

Present: Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke

Commissioners David Ferrell

Absent:

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT (3:33 P.M.)

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

REGULAR AGENDA (3:35 P.M.)

1. 19-001TI Recommendation to approve the minutes from the Technology & Innovation Commission Special meeting held, Wednesday, December 19, 2018.

A motion was made by Commissioner Vinzant, seconded by Commissioner Mae Brunson, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 6 - Lisa Mae Brunson, Justin Hectus, Evan Marquardt, Gwen Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke

Absent: 1 - David Ferrell

2. 19-002TI

Recommendation to finalize edits and determine next steps for the Digital Inclusion Survey Analysis and recommendations report.

Chair Shaffer spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

Chair Shaffer spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Er

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer and Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Director of Director of Technology & Director of Director

Commissioner Korinke spoke.

Commissioner Vinzant spoke.

Chair Shaffer spoke.

Commissioner Vinzant spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer, Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Eriksen, Director of Technolo

Commissioner Hectus spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Er

Chair Shaffer spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer and Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Director of Director of Technology & Director of Director

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

Commissioner Korinke spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Korinke, Chair Shaffer, and Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Eriksen, Innovation.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Korinke and Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Director of Director of Technology & Director of Di

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

Commissioner Vinzant spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer and Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation.

Commissioner Vinzant spoke.

Chair Shaffer spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer, Commissioner Vinzant, Commissioner Brunson.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer, Commissioner Vinzant, Commissioner Brunson.

Chair Shaffer spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

A dialogue ensued between, Chair Shaffer, Commissioner Korinke, Commissioner Vinzant, Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Director.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

Commissioner Korinke spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Korinke, Chair Shaffer, Commissioner Vinzant, Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Director of Director of Technology & Director of Director of

Commissioner Hectus spoke.

Commissioner Korinke spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation and Commissioners.

A motion was made by Commissioner Vinzant, seconded by Commissioner Marquardt, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 6 - Lisa Mae Brunson, Justin Hectus, Evan Marquardt, Gwen Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke

Absent: 1 - David Ferrell

3. 19-003TI

Recommendation to receive and file presentations on the City's Telephone Systems Modernization and One Number Project.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

John Duplissis, Telecommunications Officer spoke.

Ryan Kurtzman, Management Assistant spoke.

Chair Shaffer spoke.

Ryan Kurtzman, Management Assistant spoke.

Commissioner Vinzant spoke.

Ryan Kurtzman, Management Assistant spoke.

Commissioner Korinke spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Korinke, Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Director, and Chair Shaffer.

Rob Kurtzman, Management Assistant spoke.

Commissioner Vinzant spoke.

Ryan Kurtzman, Management Assistant spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Vinzant and Ryan Kurtzman, Management Assistant.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer, Commissioners and Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation.

A motion was made by Commissioner Hectus, seconded by Commissioner Mae Brunson, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 6 - Lisa Mae Brunson, Justin Hectus, Evan Marquardt, Gwen Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke

Absent: 1 - David Ferrell

4. 19-004TI

Recommendation to discuss potential Technology & Innovation Commission topics for 2019.

Chair Shaffer spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioners and Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Director of Director of Technology & Director of Director

Lauren Vargas, Innovation Director for Mayor Robert Garcia spoke.

Chair Shaffer spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer, and Lauren Vargas, Innovation Director for Mayor Robert Garcia.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Vinzant, Lauren Vargas, Innovation Director for Mayor Robert Garica, Chair Shaffer, and Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation.

Chair Shaffer spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer and Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer and Commissioner Korinke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer, Commissioners and Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation.

A motion was made by Commissioner Mae Brunson, seconded by Commissioner Marquardt, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 5 - Lisa Mae Brunson, Evan Marquardt, Gwen Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke

Absent: 2 - David Ferrell and Justin Hectus

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION: Members of the public are invited to address the Commission on items of interest to the public within the Commission jurisdiction. Each speaker will b limited to two minutes unless that time is extended by the Chair.

ADJOURNMENT (5:03 P.M.)