

City of Long Beach



Legislation Text

File #: 18-0581, Version: 1

Recommendation to receive and approve appointments and reappointments to Non-Charter Commissions.

APPOINTMENTS

Airport Advisory Commission

Geetanjali Reuben (CD 3) - First Term through June 2020

Geetanjali Reuben is a 3rd District resident with more than 25 years of service in the aerospace industry working for internationally renowned companies such as Boeing and Raytheon. She holds a Master of Science in Aeronautical Science and a Bachelor of Science in Aerospace from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. She also has received numerous awards for her work as a leading female engineer.

Mary Sophiea (CD 3) - First Term through June 2020

A 3rd District resident and local restauranteur, Mary Sophiea owns Baja Sonora near the airport. She is interested in bringing her unique perspective as both a resident and business owner to the commission. Mary is a graduate of CSULB and LBCC and has been actively engaged in several local organizations, including the Long Beach Rotary and Pathways to Independence. Mary has received numerous awards for her work in the community.

Senior Citizen Advisory Commission

Flora Easter (CD 8) - First Term through June 2020

Flora Easter, an 8th District resident, has a history of giving back to the community and was formerly on the Citizens Advisory Commission on Disabilities. Her work on that commission and in the clerical field have developed into a passion for community service, making her an incredible asset to the city.

Sustainable City Commission

Jenny Novak - CD 1 Representative - First Term through June 2022

Jenny Novak resides in the 1st District and works in the Governor's Office of Emergency Services. She has a Master of Arts in Geography from USC, where she served as President

of the Graduate Student Body. She has worked in various organizations on projects related to city resilience, environmental policy and sustainable development and is active in the Downtown Residential Council and the North Pine Neighborhood Association.

Hilda Gaytan - CD 9 Representative - First Term through June 2022

As a 9th District resident and co-owner of Moonco Improvements, Hilda Gaytan has served the city for many years and has received awards for her work in the community. Hilda studied Sociology and Urban Planning at the UC Irvine, and currently serves on a number of agricultural, health and planning associations in North Long Beach.

The Long Beach Community Investment Company

Lindsay Mais (CD 3) - First Term through June 2020

Lindsay Mais is a 3rd District resident and works as a financial advisor at UBS Financial Services, Inc. She is involved in a number of local organizations, including Leadership Long Beach, Friends of Pathways to Independence and the Long Beach Chamber of Commerce. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in Mass Communications from UC Berkeley.

REAPPOINTMENTS

Airport Advisory Commission

Jeff Rowe - Reappointment to Third Term through June 2020

Phil Ramsdale - Reappointment to Second Term through June 2020

Alvaro Castillo - Reappointment to Second Term through June 2020

Rita Nayak - Reappointment to First Full Term through June 2020

Jeffrey Anderson - Reappointment to Third Term through June 2020

Wayne Chaney, Sr. - Reappointment to Second Term through June 2020

Senior Citizen Advisory Commission

Naida Tushnet - Reappointment to First Full Term through June 2020

Don Darnauer - Reappointment to Third Term through June 2020

Laura Claveran - Reappointment to Third Term through June 2020

File #: 18-0581, Version: 1

Mary Alice Sedillo - Reappointment to Third Term through June 2020
Winifred Carter - Reappointment to Third Term through June 2020
Robert Finney - Reappointment to Second Term through June 2020
Ronald Eomurian - Reappointment to First Full Term through June 2020
Jo Prabhu - Reappointment to First Full Term through June 2020

Veterans Affairs Commission

Kiniko Willingham - Reappointment to Second Term through June 2020
Mike Shaknovich - Reappointment to Second Term through June 2020
Gustavo Orozco - Reappointment to First Full Term through June 2020
Josh Smith - Reappointment to Second Term through June 2020
Carlos Gonzalez - Reappointment to Second Term through June 2020
Ryan Antes - Reappointment to Second Term through June 2020
Juanita Doplemore - Reappointment to Second Term through June 2020
Ricky Fernandez - Reappointment to First Full Term through June 2020
Sylvia Contreras - Reappointment to Second Term through June 2020
Approve recommendation.

MAYOR ROBERT GARCIA