CITY OF LONG BEACH AIRPORT ADVISORY COMMISSION MINUTES

THURSDAY, JUNE 16, 2022 LONG BEACH MARRIOTT 4700 AIRPORT PLAZA DRIVE, 4:00 PM

Katie Larson, Chair Robert Duarte, Vice Chair Jeffrey Anderson, Commissioner Christine Bos, Commissioner



Wayne Chaney Sr., Commissioner Mireya LaFarga, Commissioner Miles Nevin, Commissioner Geetanjali Reuben, Commissioner Dede Rossi, Commissioner

FINISHED AGENDA AND MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER

At 4:02 p.m., Chair Nevin called the meeting to order.

ROLL CALL

Commissioners Jeffrey Anderson, Wayne Chaney Sr., Mireya LaFarga, Miles

Present: Nevin and Dede Rossi

Commissioners Christine Bos, Geetanjali Reuben, Robert L. Allarte and Katie **Absent:** Larson

1 <u>22-030AC</u> Recommendation to approve the minutes from the Airport Advisory Commission meeting on May 19, 2022.

A motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Rossi, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 5 - Jeffrey Anderson, Wayne Chaney Sr., Mireya LaFarga, Miles Nevin and Dede Rossi

Absent: 4 - Christine Bos, Geetanjali Reuben, Robert L. Allarte and Katie Larson

PRESENTATION: SERVICE RECOGNITION Commissioner Jeffrey Anderson

Cynthia Guidry spoke.

Chair Nevin spoke.

Commissioner Anderson spoke.

PUBLIC COMMENT

ROLL CALL

Commissioners Jeffrey Anderson, Wayne Chaney Sr., Mireya LaFarga, MilesPresent: Nevin, Dede Rossi and Robert L. AllarteCommissioners Christine Bos, Geetanjali Reuben and Katie Larson

Absent:

2 22-031AC

Recommendation to receive and file presentation regarding the LGB Business Partner Spotlight.

Cynthia Guidry spoke.

Kate Kuykendall spoke.

Commissioner Duarte joined the meeting.

A motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Chaney Sr., to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 6 - Jeffrey Anderson, Wayne Chaney Sr., Mireya LaFarga, Miles Nevin, Dede Rossi and Robert L. Allarte

Absent: 3 - Christine Bos, Geetanjali Reuben and Katie Larson

3 22-032AC

Recommendation to receive and file report from the Public Viewing Area Committee.

Commissioner Anderson presented the report.

Commissioner Rossi spoke.

Kate Kuykendall spoke.

Juan Lopez-Rios, Deputy Director, spoke.

Commissioner Rossi spoke.

A dialog ensued.

Chair Nevin spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner LaFarga, seconded by Commissioner Rossi, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 6 - Jeffrey Anderson, Wayne Chaney Sr., Mireya LaFarga, Miles Nevin, Dede Rossi and Robert L. Allarte

Absent: 3 - Christine Bos, Geetanjali Reuben and Katie Larson

4 22-033AC

Recommendation to receive and file report from the Sustainability Committee.

Commissioner Duarte presented the report.

A motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Chaney Sr., to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 6 - Jeffrey Anderson, Wayne Chaney Sr., Mireya LaFarga, Miles Nevin, Dede Rossi and Robert L. Allarte

Absent: 3 - Christine Bos, Geetanjali Reuben and Katie Larson

5 22-034AC

Recommendation to receive and file Monthly Airport Staff Reports for June 2022.

Cynthia Guidry presented the Director's report.

Mony Chhey, Financial Services Officer, presented the Monthly Flight Activity report.

Ryan McMullan, Noise and Environmental Affairs Officer, presented the Monthly Noise report.

Cynthia Guidry spoke.

A dialog ensued.

Kate Kuykendall presented the Public Affairs report.

Cynthia Guidry spoke.

Chair Nevin spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner Duarte, seconded by Commissioner Anderson, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 6 - Jeffrey Anderson, Wayne Chaney Sr., Mireya LaFarga, Miles Nevin, Dede Rossi and Robert L. Allarte

Absent: 3 - Christine Bos, Geetanjali Reuben and Katie Larson

6 22-035AC

Recommendation to elect Chair of the Airport Advisory Commission.

A motion was made by Commissioner Rossi, seconded by Commissioner LaFarga, to approve recommendation.

A substitute motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Duarte, to elect Vice Chair Larson as Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 6 - Jeffrey Anderson, Wayne Chaney Sr., Mireya LaFarga, Miles Nevin, Dede Rossi and Robert L. Allarte

Absent: 3 - Christine Bos, Geetanjali Reuben and Katie Larson

7 22-036AC

Recommendation to elect Vice Chair of the Airport Advisory Commission.

A motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner LaFarga, to approve recommendation.

A substitute motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Chaney Sr., to elect Commissioner Duarte as Vice Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 6 - Jeffrey Anderson, Wayne Chaney Sr., Mireya LaFarga, Miles Nevin, Dede Rossi and Robert L. Allarte

Absent: 3 - Christine Bos, Geetanjali Reuben and Katie Larson

8 22-037AC

Recommendation to excuse Commissioners absent from the meeting of the Airport Advisory Commission on June 16, 2022.

A motion was made by Commissioner LaFarga, seconded by Commissioner Rossi, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 6 - Jeffrey Anderson, Wayne Chaney Sr., Mireya LaFarga, Miles Nevin, Dede Rossi and Robert L. Allarte

Absent: 3 - Christine Bos, Geetanjali Reuben and Katie Larson

CORRESPONDENCE

COMMISSIONER CITY COUNCIL LIAISON REPORTS

Commissioner Rossi spoke.

COMMENTS FROM COMMISSIONERS

Commissioner Duarte spoke.

Chair Nevin spoke.

Commissioner Rossi spoke.

PUBLIC COMMENT

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Nevin adjourned the meeting at 4:45 p.m.