#### CITY OF LONG BEACH SUSTAINABLE CITY COMMISSION MINUTES

Sona Coffee, Chair Morgan Wheeler, Vice Chair Donna Bergeron-Birge, Commissioner Carla Dillon, Commissioner Keisha Gaines, Commissioner Hilda Gaytan, Commissioner



Rey Gonzales, Commissioner Jenny Novak, Commissioner Eric Rock, Commissioner Coby Skye, Commissioner Alan Tolkoff, Commissioner

#### FINISHED AGENDA & MINUTES

# SUSTAINABLE CITY COMMISSION HELD VIA TELECONFERENCE PURSUANT TO EXECUTIVE ORDER N-29-20 ISSUED BY GOVERNOR GAVIN NEWSOM

#### CALL TO ORDER

At 4:02 PM, Chair Coffee called the meeting to order.

#### ROLL CALL

# Commissioners Donna Bergeron-Birge, Carla Dillon, Keisha Gaines, Hilda Present: Gaytan, Rey Gonzales, Jenny Novak, Eric Rock, Alan Tolkoff, Coby Skye, Morgan Wheeler and Sona Coffee

Also present: Larry Rich, Sustainability Coordinator; Kristyn Payne, Sustainability Analyst; Britny Coker-Moen, Green Business Coordinator.

#### PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

No members of the public addressed the Commission.

#### **REGULAR AGENDA**

1. 21-013SCRecommendation to approve the minutes of the Sustainable City<br/>Commission meeting of Thursday, March 25, 2021

# A motion was made by Vice Chair Wheeler, seconded by Commissioner Skye, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Yes: 9 Donna Bergeron-Birge, Carla Dillon, Keisha Gaines, Rey Gonzales, Jenny Novak, Eric Rock, Coby Skye, Morgan Wheeler and Sona Coffee
- Absent: 2 Hilda Gaytan and Alan Tolkoff
- 2. <u>21-014SC</u> Recommendation to receive a presentation from Long Beach Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Communications on Emergency Preparedness Programs and Initiatives.

Reggie Harrison, Director, Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Communications, spoke; and provide a PowerPoint presentation.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Reggie Harrison, Director, Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Communications, spoke.

Commissioner Novak, spoke.

Commissioner Tolkoff and Commissioner Gaytan joined the meeting.

Reggie Harrison, Director, Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Communications, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Novak and Reggie Harrison, Director, Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Communications.

Commissioner Bergeron-Birge spoke.

Reggie Harrison, Director, Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Communications, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Bergeron-Birge and Reggie Harrison, Director, Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Communications.

Vice Chair Wheeler spoke.

Reggie Harrison, Director, Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Communications, spoke.

Commissioner Tolkoff spoke.

Reggie Harrison, Director, Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Communications, spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

# A motion was made by Commissioner Rock, seconded by Commissioner Gaytan, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 11 Donna Bergeron-Birge, Carla Dillon, Keisha Gaines, Hilda Gaytan, Rey Gonzales, Jenny Novak, Eric Rock, Alan Tolkoff, Coby Skye, Morgan Wheeler and Sona Coffee
- **3.** <u>21-015SC</u> Recommendation to receive a presentation from the Los Angeles Cleantech Incubator on the Transportation Electrification Partnership and electrification of the goods movement sector.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Michelle Kinman, Senior Director, Transportation, LA Cleantech Incubator, spoke; and provided a PowerPoint presentation.

Jack Symington, Program Manager, Transportation, LA Cleantech Incubator, spoke; and provided a PowerPoint presentation.

Commissioner Skye spoke.

Jack Symington, Program Manager, Transportation, LA Cleanteach Incubator, spoke.

Michelle Kinman, Senior Director, Transportation, LA Cleantech Incubator, spoke.

Commissioner Skye spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Jack Symington, Program Manager, Transportation, LA Cleantech Incubator, spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Michelle Kinman, Senior Director, Transportation, LA Cleantech Incubator, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Coffee and Michelle Kinman, Senior Director, Transportation, LA Cleantech Incubator.

Chris Chavez provided public comment to the commission.

Commissioner Gaytan spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Jack Symington, Program Manager, Transportation, LA Cleantech Incubator, spoke.

# A motion was made by Commissioner Gaytan, seconded by Commissioner Gonzales, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 11 Donna Bergeron-Birge, Carla Dillon, Keisha Gaines, Hilda Gaytan, Rey Gonzales, Jenny Novak, Eric Rock, Alan Tolkoff, Coby Skye, Morgan Wheeler and Sona Coffee
- **4.** <u>21-016SC</u> Recommendation to receive a presentation from the Aquarium of the Pacific on Sustainability Programs and Initiatives.

Fahria Qader, Director, Pacific Visions & Architecture, Aquarium of the Pacific spoke; and provided a PowerPoint presentation.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Fahria Qader, Director, Pacific Visions & Architecture, Aquarium of the Pacific, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Coffee and Fahria Qader, Director, Pacific Visions & Architecture, Aquarium of the Pacific. Larry Rich, Sustainability Coordinator, spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Fahria Qader, Director, Pacific Visions & Architecture, Aquarium of the Pacific, spoke.

# A motion was made by Commissioner Tolkoff, seconded by Commissioner Skye, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 10 Donna Bergeron-Birge, Carla Dillon, Keisha Gaines, Hilda Gaytan, Rey Gonzales, Eric Rock, Alan Tolkoff, Coby Skye, Morgan Wheeler and Sona Coffee
- Absent: 1 Jenny Novak
- **5.** 21-017SC Recommendation to hold an election for the positions of Chair and Vice Chair of the Sustainable City Commission for 2021 2022.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Larry Rich, Sustainability Coordinator, spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Commissioner Tolkoff spoke.

# A motion was made by Chair Coffee, seconded by Commissioner Tolkoff, to nominate Commissioner Wheeler for chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 9 Donna Bergeron-Birge, Carla Dillon, Keisha Gaines, Hilda Gaytan, Rey Gonzales, Eric Rock, Alan Tolkoff, Coby Skye and Sona Coffee
- Abstain: 1 Morgan Wheeler
- Absent: 1 Jenny Novak

Chair Coffee spoke.

Larry Rich, Sustainability Coordinator, spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

# A motion was made by Chair Coffee, seconded by Chair-elect Wheeler to nominate Commissioner Gaytan for vice chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Yes: 9 Donna Bergeron-Birge, Carla Dillon, Keisha Gaines, Rey Gonzales, Eric Rock, Alan Tolkoff, Coby Skye, Morgan Wheeler and Sona Coffee
- Abstain: 1 Hilda Gaytan
- Absent: 1 Jenny Novak

# PROGRESS UPDATES, ACCOMPLISHMENTS & NEXT STEPS FROM SUSTAINABLE CITY STAFF

Larry Rich, Sustainability Coordinator, spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Coffee and Larry Rich, Sustainability Coordinator.

#### COMMENTS & ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM SUSTAINABLE CITY COMMISSIONERS

Commissioner Bergeron-Birge spoke.

Commissioner Gaytan spoke.

Vice Chair Wheeler spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Commissioner Dillon spoke.

Commissioner Gaines spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

#### ADJOURNMENT

At 6:38 PM, there being no objection, Chair Coffee adjourned the meeting.

СС