CITY OF LONG BEACH PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2020 HELD VIA TELECONFERENCE, 5:00 PM

Richard Lewis, Chair Mark Christoffels, Vice Chair Erick Verduzco-Vega, Commissioner



Ron Cruz, Commissioner Josh LaFarga, Commissioner Jane Templin, Commissioner Joni Ricks-Oddie, Commissioner

FINISHED AGENDA AND DRAFT MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Lewis called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Also present: Christopher Koontz, Deputy Director of Development Services; Alexis Oropeza, Current Planning Officer; Michael Mais, Assistant City Attorney; Alejandro Sanchez-Lopez, Project Planner; Jonathan Iniesta, Planner; Dionne Bearden, Bureau Secretary.

Commissioners Ron Cruz, Josh LaFarga, Jane Templin, Erick Verduzco-Vega, **Present:** Joni Ricks-Oddie, Mark Christoffels and Richard Lewis

FLAG SALUTE

Commissioner Ricks-Oddie lead the flag salute.

MINUTES

20-083PL

Recommendation to receive and file the Planning Commission meeting minutes of September 3, 2020.

A motion was made by Commissioner Templin, seconded by Commissioner LaFarga, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 6 - Ron Cruz, Josh LaFarga, Jane Templin, Erick Verduzco-Vega, Joni Ricks-Oddie and Mark Christoffels

Abstain: 1 - Richard Lewis

20-084PL Recommendation to elect a Chair for the Planning Commission for 2020-2021.

A motion was made by Commissioner Verduzco-Vega, seconded by Commissioner Ricks-Oddie, to elect Mark Christoffels as Chair of the Planning Commission for 2020-2021. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Ron Cruz, Josh LaFarga, Jane Templin, Erick Verduzco-Vega, Joni Ricks-Oddie, Mark Christoffels and Richard Lewis

20-085PL Recommendation to elect a Vice Chair for the Planning Commission Chair 2020-2021.

Vice Chair Ricks-Oddie spoke.

Chair Christoffels spoke.

Commissioner Verduzco-Vega spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner Templin, seconded by Commissioner LaFarga, to elect Dr. Joni Ricks-Oddie as Vice Chair of the Planning Commission for 2020-2021. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Ron Cruz, Josh LaFarga, Jane Templin, Erick Verduzco-Vega, Joni Ricks-Oddie, Mark Christoffels and Richard Lewis

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Christopher Koontz, Development Services Deputy Director, presented the Director's Report.

SWEARING OF WITNESSES

REGULAR AGENDA

1. 20-087PL

Recommendation to Deny Conditional Use Permit CUP 1801-02 for a new 3,058-square-foot detached self-service automated car wash connected to an existing service station and mini mart located at 5005 Long Beach Boulevard within the Commercial Automobile-Oriented (CCA) Zoning District. (District 8)

Christopher Koontz, Development Services Deputy Director, spoke.

Alexis Oropeza, Current Planning Officer, spoke.

Ahmad Ghaderi, applicant, spoke.

Chair Christoffels spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner LaFarga, seconded by Vice Chair Ricks-Oddie, to continue item to a later date. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Ron Cruz, Josh LaFarga, Jane Templin, Erick Verduzco-Vega, Joni Ricks-Oddie, Mark Christoffels and Richard Lewis

2. 20-088PL

Recommendation to Recommend that the City Council determine that the project is categorically exempt from the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) pursuant to Section 15305 (Class 5 - Minor Alterations to Land Use Limitations) of the CEQA Guidelines and none of the exceptions in 15300.2 apply, and that it is further exempt pursuant to Section 15308 (Actions by Regulatory Agencies for Protection of the Environment) and Section 15061(b)(3) (Common Sense Exemption), as it will not result directly or indirectly in significant environmental impacts. (CE20-090); and recommend that the City Council adopt Zoning Code Amendment ZCA20-014, consisting of changes to Title 21 of the Long Beach Municipal Code (LBMC) that would amend section 21.61 (Maintenance of Low Income Housing in the Coastal Zone) to limit exceptions to the requirements to replace affordable units and to modify the in-lieu fees for Coastal Zone areas of the City. (CD 1,2 and 3)

Christopher Koontz, Development Services Deputy Director, presented the staff report.

Chair Christoffels spoke.

Vice Chair Ricks-Oddie spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Development Services Deputy Director, presented the staff report.

A dialogue ensued between Vice Chair Ricks-Oddie and Christopher Koontz, Development Services Deputy Director.

Alejandro Sanchez-Lopez, Project Planner, spoke.

Vice Chair Ricks-Oddie spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Development Services Deputy Director, spoke.

Vice Chair Ricks-Oddie spoke.

Chair Christoffels spoke.

Commissioner Templin spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Development Services Deputy Director, spoke.

Commissioner Templin spoke.

Jonathan Iniesta, Planner, spoke.

Chair Christoffels spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner Templin, seconded by Commissioner Cruz,to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Ron Cruz, Josh LaFarga, Jane Templin, Erick Verduzco-Vega, Joni Ricks-Oddie, Mark Christoffels and Richard Lewis

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION: Members of the public are invited to address the Planning Commission on items of interest to the public within the Commission's jurisdiction. Each speaker will be limited to three minutes unless that time is extended by the Chair.

COMMENTS FROM THE PLANNING COMMISSION

Commissioner Lewis spoke.

Chair Christoffels spoke.

ADJOURNMENT

At 5:02 p.m., Chair Christoffels adjourned the meeting.

NEXT REGULAR MEETING: November 5, 2020 - 5:00 p.m.

DB

NOTE:

If written language translation of the Commission agenda and minutes for non-English speaking persons is desired, please make your request by phone to the Office of the City Clerk at (562) 570-6101, 72 business hours prior to the Commission meeting.

Kung nais ang pagsasalin ng nakasulat na wika ng agenda ng Komisyon at ang minutes para sa mga taong hindi nagsasalita ng Ingles, mangyaring isagawa ang iyong hiling sa pamamagitan ng telepono sa Opisina ng Clerk ng Lungsod sa (562) 570-6101, 72 oras ng negosyo bago ang pagpupulong ng Commission.

Si desea obtener la traducción escrita en otro idioma de la agenda y actas de la comisión para personas que no hablan inglés, haga su solicitud por teléfono a la Oficina de la Secretaría Municipal al (562) 570-6101, 72 horas hábiles antes de la reunión de la comisión.

បើមានការចង់បានឲ្យមានការបកប្រែឯកសារស្គីពីរបៀបវារ: និងកំណត់ហេកុឲ្យ អ្នកដែលមិនចេះនិយាយអង់គ្លេស សូមមេត្តាធ្វើសំណើរអ្នកតាមទូរស័ព្ទដោយហៅ ការិយាល័យស្ពៀនក្រុងតាមរយៈលេខ (562) 570-6101 (72 ម៉ោងធ្វើការមុននឹង ចាប់ផ្តើមបើកកិច្ចប្រជុំគណកម្មការធម្មនុញ្ញ)។