Jeffrey Anderson, Chair Wayne Chaney Sr., Vice Chair Alvaro Castillo, Commissioner Katie Larson, Commissioner Rita Nayak, Commissioner



Miles Nevin, Commissioner Geetanjali Reuben, Commisioner Jeff Rowe, Commissioner Mary Sophiea, Commissioner

### **FINISHED AGENDA AND MINUTES**

# AIRPORT ADVISORY COMMISSION MEETING VIA TELECONFERENCE PURSUANT TO EXECUTIVE ORDER N-29-20 ISSUED BY GOVERNOR GAVIN NEWSOM

## **CALL TO ORDER**

Chair Anderson called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

### **ROLL CALL**

Commissioners Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin,
Present: Geetanjali Reuben, Jeff Rowe, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney
Sr. and Jeffrey Anderson

1 <u>20-025AC</u> Recommendation to excuse Commissioners absent from the Airport Advisory Commission meeting on June 18, 2020.

A motion was made by Commissioner Larson, seconded by Commissioner Sophiea, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

**Yes:** 9 - Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Jeff Rowe, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney Sr. and Jeffrey Anderson

20-026AC Recommendation to approve the minutes from the meeting of the Airport Advisory Commission on May 21, 2020.

# A motion was made by Commissioner Rowe, seconded by Commissioner Nevin, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

**Yes:** 9 - Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Jeff Rowe, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney Sr. and Jeffrey Anderson

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

# **3** 20-027AC

Recommendation to receive and file monthly Airport Staff Reports for June 2020.

Cynthia Guidry, Director, presented the Director's report.

Mony Chhey, Financial Services Officer, presented the Monthly Activity and Budget reports.

Claudia Lewis, Manager of Finance and Administration, spoke.

A dialog ensued.

# **Commissioners Present:**

Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney Sr. and Jeffrey Anderson

# **Commissioners Absent:**

Jeff Rowe

Cynthia Guidry spoke.

Ryan McMullan, Noise & Environmental Affairs Officer, presented the Monthly Noise Report.

Ron Reeves, Operations Bureau Manager, presented the Operations report.

Kate Kuykendall, Public Affairs Officer, presented the Monthly Public Affairs Report.

Cynthia Guidry spoke.

Chair Anderson spoke.

Commissioner Castillo spoke.

Mony Chhey spoke.

A dialog ensued.

Commissioner Larson spoke.

Mony Chhey spoke.

Commissioner Nayak spoke.

Chair Anderson spoke.

Mony Chhey spoke.

A dialog ensued.

A motion was made by Commissioner Nevin, seconded by Commissioner Larson, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

**Yes:** 8 - Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney Sr. and Jeffrey Anderson

Absent: 1 - Jeff Rowe

4 20-028AC

Recommendation to elect Chair and Vice Chair of the Airport Advisory Commission.

Commissioner Nevin moved to nominate Commissioner Castillo for Chair.

Commissioner Larson spoke.

Ken Mason, Secretary to the Commission, spoke.

Commissioner Reuben seconded the motion.

Commissioner Larson made a substitute motion to nominate Commissioner Anderson as Chair.

Vice Chair Chaney seconded the motion.

Commissioner Nevin spoke.

Commissioner Castillo spoke.

# **Commissioners Present:**

Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Jeff Rowe, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney Sr. and Jeffrey Anderson

Chair Anderson spoke.

Commissioner Rowe spoke.

A dialog ensued.

Ken Mason spoke.

Commissioner Larson spoke.

Chair Anderson spoke.

Commissioner Larson withdrew her motion to nominate Commissioner Anderson as Chair.

Ken Mason spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner Nevin, seconded by Commissioner Reuben, to elect Commissioner Castillo as Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

**Yes:** 9 - Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Jeff Rowe, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney Sr. and Jeffrey Anderson

Commissioner Anderson nominated Commissioner Chaney as Vice Chair.

Commissioner Rowe spoke.

Commissioner Sophiea spoke.

A motion was made by Chair Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Sophiea, to elect Commissioner Chaney as Vice Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

**Yes:** 9 - Alvaro Castillo, Katie Larson, Rita Nayak, Miles Nevin, Geetanjali Reuben, Jeff Rowe, Mary Sophiea, Wayne Chaney Sr. and Jeffrey Anderson

**CORRESPONDENCE** 

**COMMISSIONER CITY COUNCIL LIAISON REPORTS** 

### **COMMENTS FROM COMMISSIONERS**

Commissioner Castillo spoke.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

At 5:06 p.m., Commissioner Sophiea moved to adjourn.