CITY OF LONG BEACH PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 17, 2019 411 W. OCEAN BOULEVARD CIVIC CHAMBERS, 5:00 PM

Richard Lewis, Chair Mark Christoffels, Vice Chair Erick Verduzco-Vega, Commissioner



Ron Cruz, Commissioner Josh LaFarga, Commissioner Andy Perez, Commissioner Jane Templin, Commissioner

FINAL AGENDA AND MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER

At 5:01 p.m., Chair Lewis called the meeting to order.

ROLL CALL

Also present: Linda F. Tatum, Director of Development Services; Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager; Alexis Oropeza, Current Planning Officer; Patricia Diefenderfer, Advance Planning Officer; Taylor Anderson, Deputy City Attorney; Amy Harbin, Project Planner; Alison Spindler-Ruiz, Project Planner; M. Wilson, Executive Assistant to the Director; Dionne Bearden, Bureau Secretary.

Commissioners Ron Cruz, Andy Perez, Erick Verduzco-Vega, Mark Christoffels
Present: and Richard Lewis
Commissioners Josh LaFarga and Jane Templin
Absent:

FLAG SALUTE

Commissioner Verduzco-Vega lead the flag salute.

MINUTES

<u>19-082PL</u> Recommendation to receive and file the Planning Commission minutes of October 3, 2019.

A motion was made by Commissioner Perez, seconded by Commissioner Cruz, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 5 Ron Cruz, Andy Perez, Erick Verduzco-Vega, Mark Christoffels and Richard Lewis
- Absent: 2 Josh LaFarga and Jane Templin

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, presented the Director's Report.

Chair Lewis spoke.

SWEARING OF WITNESSES

REGULAR AGENDA

1. <u>19-083PL</u> Recommendation to recommend that City Council accept Negative Declaration (ND09-19) and approve Zone Code Amendment (ZCA 19-009) to amend portions of Title 21 - Zoning of the Long Beach Municipal Code (LBMC) including Sections 21.33.045, 21.45.4009(B) and 21.45.4009(I)(3) relating to the IP Zoning District, LEED Building Rating System, and Solar Ready Roofs. (Citywide)

Alexis Oropeza, Current Planning Officer, introduced Amy Harbin, Project Planner, who presented the staff report.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Chair Lewis spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner Verduzco-Vega, seconded by Commissioner Perez, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 5 - Ron Cruz, Andy Perez, Erick Verduzco-Vega, Mark Christoffels and Richard Lewis

Absent: 2 - Josh LaFarga and Jane Templin

2. <u>19-084PL</u> Recommendation to recommend that the City Council 1) certify the revised Final Environmental Impact Report (EIR 03-16) based on the final set of maps approved by the Long Beach City Council on March 6, 2018; 2) adopt the updated Land Use Element to the Long Beach General Plan; 3) adopt the new Urban Design Element to the Long Beach General Plan; and 4) repeal the existing Scenic Routes Element to the Long Beach General Plan. (Citywide)

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, introduced Alison Spindler -Ruiz, Project Planner, who presented the staff report.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Lynette Ferenczy provided public comment.

Colleen McDonald provided public comment.

Janet West provided public comment.

Ann Cantrell provided public comment.

Mauna Eichner provided public comment.

Corliss Lee provided public comment.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Regina Taylor provided public comment.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Commissioner Christoffels spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

Commissioner Cruz spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

Commissioner Verduzco-Vega spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

Commissioner Verduzco-Vega spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Verduzco-Vega and Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau manager.

Commissioner Christoffels spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Christoffels and Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Alison Spindler - Ruiz, project planner, spoke.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

Mark Christoffels spoke.

Commissioner Christoffels spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

Commissioner Christoffels spoke.

Patricia Diefenderfer, Advanced Planning Officer, spoke.

Commissioner Christoffels spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Chair Lewis spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner Verduzco-Vega, seconded by Commissioner Perez, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 5 Ron Cruz, Andy Perez, Erick Verduzco-Vega, Mark Christoffels and Richard Lewis
- Absent: 2 Josh LaFarga and Jane Templin

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION: Members of the public are invited to address the Planning Commission on items of interest to the public within the Commission's jurisdiction. Each speaker will be limited to three minutes unless that time is extended by the Chair.

Lynette Ferenczy provided public comment.

Chair Lewis spoke.

COMMENTS FROM THE PLANNING COMMISSION

ADJOURNMENT

At 6:08 p.m., Chair Lewis adjourned the meeting.

DB

NOTE:

If written language translation of the Commission agenda and minutes for non-English speaking persons is desired, please make your request by phone to the Office of the City Clerk at (562) 570-6101, 72 business hours prior to the Commission meeting.

Kung nais ang pagsasalin ng nakasulat na wika ng agenda ng Komisyon at ang minutes para sa mga taong hindi nagsasalita ng Ingles, mangyaring isagawa ang iyong hiling sa pamamagitan ng telepono sa Opisina ng Clerk ng Lungsod sa (562) 570-6101, 72 oras ng negosyo bago ang pagpupulong ng Commission.

Si desea obtener la traducción escrita en otro idioma de la agenda y actas de la comisión para personas que no hablan inglés, haga su solicitud por teléfono a la Oficina de la Secretaría Municipal al (562) 570-6101, 72 horas hábiles antes de la reunión de la comisión.

បើមានការចង់បានឲ្យមានការបកប្រែឯកសារស្តីពីរបៀបវារ: និងកំណត់ហេតុឲ្យ អ្នកដែលមិនចេះនិយាយអង់គ្លេស សូមមេត្តាធ្វើសំណើរអ្នកតាមទូរស័ព្ទដោយហៅ ការិយាល័យស្ថៀនក្រុងតាមរយ:លេខ (562) 570-6101 (72 ម៉ោងធ្វើការមុននឹង ចាប់ផ្តើមបើកកិច្ចប្រជុំគណកម្មការធម្មនុញ្ញ)។