CITY OF LONG BEACH PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES

THURSDAY, JUNE 6, 2019 RECREATION PARK SOCIAL HALL 4900 E. 7TH STREET LONG BEACH, CA 90804, 5:00 PM

Richard Lewis, Chair Mark Christoffels, Vice Chair Erick Verduzco-Vega, Commissioner



Ron Cruz, Commissioner Josh LaFarga, Commissioner Andy Perez, Commissioner Jane Templin, Commissioner

FINAL AGENDA AND MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER

Vice Chair Christoffels called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Also present: Linda Tatum, Director of Development Services; Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager; Michael Mais, Assistant City Attorney; Alexis Oropeza, Current Planning Officer; Scott Kinsey, Planner; Jennifer Ly, Planner; Marcos Lopez, Planner; Dionne Bearden, Bureau Secretary.

Commissioners Mark Christoffels, Josh LaFarga, Andy Perez, Jane Templin, Present: Richard Lewis and Erick Verduzco-Vega Commissioners Ron Cruz Absent:

FLAG SALUTE

Commissioner Templin lead the flag salute.

MINUTES

<u>19-038PL</u> Recommendation to receive and file the Planning Commission minutes of May 16, 2019.

A motion was made by Commissioner Templin, seconded by Commissioner Perez, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 4 Mark Christoffels, Andy Perez, Jane Templin and Erick Verduzco-Vega
- Absent: 3 Ron Cruz, Josh LaFarga and Richard Lewis

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, provided the Director's Report.

SWEARING OF WITNESSES

Do you solemnly swear or affirm that the evidence you shall give in this Planning Commission Meeting shall be the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth.

REGULAR AGENDA

1. <u>19-039PL</u> Recommendation to accept Categorical Exemption CE19-066 and approve a Conditional Use Permit (CUP19-014) for adult-use cannabis distribution within an existing 3,983 square-foot building located at 1335 W. 16th St. in the General Industrial (IG) District. (District 1)

Jennifer Ly, Planner, presented the staff report.

Vice Chair Christoffels spoke.

Jennifer Ly, Planner, spoke.

Vice Chair Christoffels spoke.

Tom Brozowski, applicant, spoke.

Vice Chair Christoffels spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner Verduzco-Vega, seconded by Commissioner Templin, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 5 Mark Christoffels, Josh LaFarga, Andy Perez, Jane Templin and Erick Verduzco-Vega
- Absent: 2 Ron Cruz and Richard Lewis
- 2. <u>19-040PL</u> Request for a finding of conformance with the General Plan of the City of Long Beach for the vacation of a segment of a public alley (Maple Way), located between Long Beach Blvd. and Alamo Court, for the purpose of land assembly for the Broadway Block project development site, located at 200-256 Long Beach Blvd. in the Downtown Planned Development (PD-30)District.(District 2)

Alexis Oropeza, Current Planning Officer, introduced Scott Kinsey, Planner, who provided the staff report.

Vice Chair Christoffels spoke.

Commissioner Verduzco-Vega spoke.

Scott Kinsey, Planner, spoke.

Vice Chair Christoffels spoke.

Nathan Pitters, applicant, spoke.

Vice Chair Christoffels spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner Perez, seconded by Commissioner LaFarga, to make the requested finding in the affirmative. The motion carred by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 5 Mark Christoffels, Josh LaFarga, Andy Perez, Jane Templin and Erick Verduzco-Vega
- Absent: 2 Ron Cruz and Richard Lewis
- **3.** <u>19-041PL</u> Recommendation to accept Categorical Exemption CE-19-046 and approve a Conditional Use Permit (CUP19-007) to allow on and off-site

alcohol sales), On Sale Beer and Wine and Instructional Tasting in conjunction with a convenience food market totaling 1,254 square-feet of commercial space, located at 707 E. Ocean Blvd - Unit A, within the Downtown Plan Development District (PD-30). (District 2)

Alexis Oropeza, Current Planning Officer, introduced Marcos Lopez, Planner, who provided the staff report.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Peter Impala, applicant, spoke.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Chris Harrison, applicant, spoke.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Commissioner Templin spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Templin and Christopher Koontz Planning Bureau Manager.

Commissioner Verduzco-Vega spoke.

Alexis Oropeza, Current Planning Officer, spoke.

Scott Kinsey, Planner, spoke.

Commissioner Verduzco-Vega spoke.

Chair Lewis spoke.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Christoffels, seconded by Commissioner Verduzco-Vega, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote: **Yes:** 6 - Mark Christoffels, Josh LaFarga, Andy Perez, Jane Templin, Richard Lewis and Erick Verduzco-Vega

Absent: 1 - Ron Cruz

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION: Members of the public are invited to address the Planning Commission on items of interest to the public within the Commission's jurisdiction. Each speaker will be limited to three minutes unless that time is extended by the Chair.

COMMENTS FROM THE PLANNING COMMISSION

Commissioner Verduzco-Vega spoke.

Chair Lewis spoke.

ADJOURNMENT

At 5:37 p.m., Chair Lewis adjourned the meeting.

NEXT MEETING: SPECIAL MEETING DATE: Wednesday, June 19, 2019 - 5:00 p.m.

dB

NOTE:

If written language translation of the Commission agenda and minutes for non-English speaking persons is desired, please make your request by phone to the Office of the City Clerk at (562) 570-6101, 72 business hours prior to the Commission meeting.

Kung nais ang pagsasalin ng nakasulat na wika ng agenda ng Komisyon at ang minutes para sa mga taong hindi nagsasalita ng Ingles, mangyaring isagawa ang iyong hiling sa pamamagitan ng telepono sa Opisina ng Clerk ng Lungsod sa (562) 570-6101, 72 oras ng negosyo bago ang pagpupulong ng Commission.

Si desea obtener la traducción escrita en otro idioma de la agenda y actas de la comisión para personas que no hablan inglés, haga su solicitud por teléfono a la Oficina de la Secretaría Municipal al (562) 570-6101, 72 horas hábiles antes de la reunión de la comisión.

បើមានការចង់បានឲ្យមានការបកប្រែឯកសារស្តីពីរបៀបវារ: និងកំណត់ហេតុឲ្យ អ្នកដែលមិនចេះនិយាយអង់គ្លេស សូមមេត្តាធ្វើសំណើរអ្នកតាមទូរស័ព្ទដោយហៅ ការិយាល័យស្ថៀនក្រុងតាមរយ:លេខ (562) 570-6101 (72 ម៉ោងធ្វើការមុននឹង ចាប់ផ្តើមបើកកិច្ចប្រជុំគណកម្មការធម្មនុញ្ញ)។