CITY OF LONG BEACH TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION COMMISSION MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 27, 2019 333 W. OCEAN BOULEVARD COUNCIL CHAMBER, 3:30 PM

Gwen Shaffer, Chair David W. Ferrell, Vice Chair Robb Korinke, Commissioner Lisa Mae Brunson, Commissioner



Justin Hectus, Commissioner Evan Marquardt, Commissioner Parisa Vinzant, Commissioner

FINISHED AGENDA & MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING - 3:30 P.M.

ROLL CALL (3:31 P.M.)

Commissioners Justin Hectus, Evan Marquardt, Gwen Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant **Present:** and Robb Korinke

Commissioners Lisa Mae Brunson and David Ferrell Excused:

Also present: Cason Lee, Deputy Director, Rebecca Kauma, Project Lead for Economic & Digital Inclusion, Alejandra Garcia, Executive Assistant.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT (3:33 P.M.)

REGULAR AGENDA (3:35 P.M.)

1. 19-006TI Recommendation to approve the minutes from the Technology & Innovation Commission meeting held, Wednesday, January 23, 2019.

A motion was made by Commissioner Mae Brunson, seconded by Commissioner Vinzant, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote: **Yes:** 5 - Justin Hectus, Evan Marquardt, Gwen Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke

Absent: 2 - Lisa Mae Brunson and David Ferrell

2. 19-007TI

Recommendation to receive and file an oral presentation from Rebecca Kauma regarding the Digital Inclusion Stakeholders Roundtable conducted on January 30, 2019.

Rebecca Kauma, Project Lead for Economic & Digital Inclusion spoke.

Commissioner Korinke spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Rebecca Kauma, Project Lead for Economic & Digital Inclusion and Commissioner Korinke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer and Rebecca Kauma, Project Lead for Economic & Digital Inclusion.

Cason Lee, Deputy Director for Technology & Innovation spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Vinzant and Rebecca Kauma, Project Lead for Economic & Digital Inclusion.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Hectus and Cason Lee, Deputy Director of Technology & Innovation.

Chair Shaffer spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer and Cason Lee, Deputy Director of Technology & Innovation.

A motion was made by Commissioner Vinzant seconded by Chair Shaffer, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 5 - Justin Hectus, Evan Marquardt, Gwen Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke

Excused: 2 - Lisa Mae Brunson and David Ferrell

3. 19-008TI

Recommendation to receive and file a discussion of next steps for publication and distribution of the Digital Inclusion Survey Analysis and

Recommendations report.

Chair Shaffer spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer and Cason Lee, Deputy Director of Technology & Innovation.

Chair Shaffer spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioners Korinke, Hectus, Shaffer, Vinzant and Rebecca Kauma, Project Lead for Economic & Digital Inclusion.

Lauran Vargas, Innovation Deputy for Mayor Robert Garcia spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer and Commissioners.

Cason Lee, Deputy Director of Technology of Innovation spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer and Commissioner Korinke.

Rebecca Kauma, Project Lead for Economic & Digital Inclusion spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Robb Korinke and Chair Shaffer.

Chair Shaffer spoke.

Commissioner Hectus spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioners.

Chair Shaffer spoke.

Cason Lee, Deputy Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

Rebecca Kauma, Project Lead for Economic & Digital Inclusion spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer, Rebecca Kauma, Project Lead for Economic & Digital Inclusion.

Commissioner Vinzant spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Shaffer and Rebecca Kauma, Project Lead for Economic & Digital Inclusion.

A motion was made by Chair Korinke, seconded by Commissioner Vinzant, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 5 - Justin Hectus, Evan Marquardt, Gwen Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke

Absent: 2 - Lisa Mae Brunson and David Ferrell

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION: Members of the public are invited to address the Commission on items of interest to the public within the Commission's jurisdiction. Each speaker will be limited to two minutes unless that time is extended by the Chair.

ADJOURNMENT (4:40 P.M.)