#### CITY OF LONG BEACH TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION COMMISSION MINUTES

Robb Korinke, Chair Gwen Shaffer, Vice Chair Lisa Mae Brunson, Commissioner David W. Ferrell, Commissioner



Justin Hectus, Commissioner Evan Marquardt, Commissioner Parisa Vinzant, Commissioner

### FINISHED AGENDA & DRAFT MINUTES - 4:30 P.M.

ROLL CALL

**Commissioners** Lisa Mae Brunson, David Ferrell, Justin Hectus, Evan **Present:** Marguardt, Gwen Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT (4:35 P.M.)

Also present: Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation, Rebecca Kauma, Project Lead for Economic & Digital Inclusion, Lauren Vargas, Innovation Deputy for Mayor Robert Garcia, Deborah Hill, Secretary, and Alejandra Garcia, Executive Assistant.

**REGULAR AGENDA (4:36 P.M.)** 

1. <u>18-037TI</u> Recommendation to approve the minutes from the Technology & Innovation Commission Special meeting & Study Session held, Monday, October 22, 2018.

# A motion was made by Chair Korinke, seconded by Commissioner Vinzant, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 5 David Ferrell, Evan Marquardt, Gwen Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke
- Absent: 2 Lisa Mae Brunson and Justin Hectus

2. <u>18-038TI</u> Recommendation to develop recommendations for Digital Inclusion and to finalize next steps for the Digital Inclusion survey analysis and recommendations report.

Chair Korinke spoke.

Commissioner Ferrell spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director, Technology & Innovation Director spoke.

Chair Korinke spoke.

Commissioner Vinzant spoke.

## A motion was made by Chair Korinke, seconded by Commissioner Shaffer, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 5 David Ferrell, Evan Marquardt, Gwen Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke
- Absent: 2 Lisa Mae Brunson and Justin Hectus
- **3.** <u>18-039TI</u> Recommendation to receive and file a presentation from the Technology & Innovation Department on the Citywide Fiber Network.

Lea Eriksen, Director, Technology & Innovation Director spoke.

Chair Korinke spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director, Technology & Innovation Director spoke.

Nathan Rosenburg, The Broadband Group, VP of Business Strategy spoke.

Commissioner Ferrell spoke.

Nathan Rosenburg, The Broadband Group, VP of Business Strategy spoke.

Vice Chair Shaffer spoke.

Nathan Rosenburg, The Broadband Group, VP of Business Strategy spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Vice Chair Shaffer and Nathan Rosenburg, The Broadband Group, VP of Business Strategy.

Chair Korinke spoke.

Nathan Rosenburg, The Broadband Group, VP of Business Strategy spoke.

Commissioner Ferrell spoke.

Nathan Rosenburg, The Broadband Group, VP of Business Strategy spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Ferrell and Nathan Rosenburg, The Broadband Group, VP of Business Strategy.

Chair Korinke spoke.

Nathan Rosenburg, The Broadband Group, VP of Business Strategy spoke.

## A motion was made by Chair Korinke, seconded by Commissioner Marquardt, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 5 David Ferrell, Evan Marquardt, Gwen Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke
- Absent: 2 Lisa Mae Brunson and Justin Hectus

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION: Members of the public are invited to address the Commission items of interest to the public within the Commission jurisdiction. Each speaker will be limited to two minutes unless that time is extended by the Chair.

ADJOURNMENT (5:08 P.M.)