CITY OF LONG BEACH SUSTAINABLE CITY COMMISSION MINUTES

Sona Coffee, Chair Morgan Wheeler, Vice Chair Coby Skye, Commissioner Alan Tolkoff, Commissioner Donna Bergeron-Birge, Commissioner Rey Gonzales, Commissioner



Jenny Novak, Commissioner Nicholas Lind, Commissioner Eric Rock, Commissioner Carla Dillon, Commissioner Hilda Gaytan, Commissioner

FINISHED AGENDA AND MINUTES

SUSTAINABLE CITY COMMISSION HELD VIA TELECONFERENCE PURSUANT TO EXECUTIVE ORDER N-29-20 ISSUED BY GOVERNOR GAVIN NEWSOM

THE CIVIC CHAMBERS WILL BE CLOSED TO THE PUBLIC

PUBLIC WILL HAVE THE OPTION TO USE eCOMMENT TO PROVIDE COMMENTS ON AGENDA ITEMS. WRITTEN COMMENTS MY ALSO BE SUBMITTED BY EMAIL TO SUSTAINABILITY@LONGBEACH.GOV

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Coffee called the meeting to order at 4:10 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Commissioners Donna Bergeron-Birge, Carla Dillon, Hilda Gaytan, Rey
Present: Gonzales, Jenny Novak, Coby Skye, Morgan Wheeler and Sona Coffee
Commissioners Nicholas Lind, Eric Rock and Alan Tolkoff
Absent:

Also present: Larry Rich, Sustainable City Coordinator; Britney Coker-Moen, Green Business Coordinator; Sandra Barajas, Clerk Typist PUBLIC PARTICIPATION: Members of the public are invited to address the Sustainable City Commission on non-agenda items of interest to the public within the Commission's jurisdiction. Each speaker will be limited to three minutes unless that time is extended by the Chair.

All Comments have been emailed to commissioners and attached along with file minutes 20-008SC

NEW BUSINESS:

1. <u>20-008SC</u> Recommendation to receive and file the minutes of the Sustainable City Commission meeting of Thursday, February 27, 2020.

Attachments: Finished Agenda and Minutes 2-27-20.pdf 052820eCommentsReport-Sustainable.pdf Public Comments for 5.28 SCC Meeting.pdf Bird - Long Beach Sustainability City Commission Public

A motion was made by Vice Chair Wheeler, seconded by Commissioner Dillon, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 6 Donna Bergeron-Birge, Carla Dillon, Rey Gonzales, Jenny Novak, Morgan Wheeler and Sona Coffee
- **Absent:** 5 Hilda Gaytan, Nicholas Lind, Eric Rock, Alan Tolkoff and Coby Skye

2. <u>20-009SC</u> Recommendation to receive a presentation from Long Beach Public Works Mobility Team on Active Transportation Projects and Programs.

Attachments: Mobility Sustainable City Commission 2020 - RFS.pdf

Tony Cruz, Community Program Specialist V and Rachel Junken, Transportation Planner II, gave presentation from Long Beach Public Works Mobility Team on Active Transportation Projects and Programs.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Tony Cruz, Community Program Specialist V, spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Commissioner Bergeron-Birge spoke.

Rachel Junken, Transportation Planner II, spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Commissioner Novak spoke.

Vice-Chair Wheeler spoke.

Tony Cruz, Community Program Specialist V, spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Rachel Junken, Transportation Planner II, spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Tony Cruz, Community Program Specialist V, spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Commissioner Gaytan joined in around 4:18 p.m.

Commissioner Gaytan spoke.

Tony Cruz, Community Program Specialist V, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Gaytan and Tony Cruz, Community Program Specialist V.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Commissioner Bergeron-Birge spoke.

Tony Cruz, Community Program Specialist V, spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Public Comment has been added to Chair and Commissioners.

Rachel Junken, Transportation Planner II, spoke.

Commissioner Skye joined in around 4:30 p.m.

Updated Roll Call 4:45 p.m.

A motion was made by Commissioner Skye, seconded by Commissioner Gonzales, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Yes: 8 Donna Bergeron-Birge, Carla Dillon, Hilda Gaytan, Rey Gonzales, Jenny Novak, Coby Skye, Morgan Wheeler and Sona Coffee
- Absent: 3 Nicholas Lind, Eric Rock and Alan Tolkoff

3. <u>20-010SC</u> Recommendation to receive a presentation from the Aquarium of the Pacific on their Climate Resilience Work.

Attachments: AOP Sustainability Presentation.pdf

Emily Yam from the Aquarium of the Pacific gave presentation on their Climate Resilience Work.

Chair Coffee Spoke.

Commissioner Bergeron-Birge spoke.

Commissioner Novak spoke.

Chair Coffee Spoke.

Vice-Chair Wheeler spoke.

Commissioner Gaytan spoke.

Emily Yam from the Aquarium of the Pacific spoke.

Commissioner Gaytan spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Commissioner Skye spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Emily Yam from the spoke.

A motion was made by to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Yes: 8 Donna Bergeron-Birge, Carla Dillon, Hilda Gaytan, Rey Gonzales, Jenny Novak, Coby Skye, Morgan Wheeler and Sona Coffee
- Absent: 3 Nicholas Lind, Eric Rock and Alan Tolkoff

4. <u>20-011SC</u> Recommendation to hold an election for the positions of Chair and Vice Chair of the Sustainable City Commission for 2020 - 2021.

Larry Rich, Sustainable City Coordinator, spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Commissioner Gaytan spoke.

Vote for Chair Coffee.

A motion was made by Commissioner Skye, seconded by Commissioner Gaytan, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Donna Bergeron-Birge, Carla Dillon, Hilda Gaytan, Rey Gonzales, Jenny Novak, Coby Skye, Morgan Wheeler

Abstain: 1 - Sona Coffee

Absent: 3 - Nicholas Lind, Eric Rock and Alan Tolkoff

Vote for Vice Chair Wheeler.

A motion was made by Commissioner Gaytan, seconded by Commissioner Bergeron-Birge, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 7 Donna Bergeron-Birge, Carla Dillon, Hilda Gaytan, Rey Gonzales, Jenny Novak, Coby Skye and Sona Coffee
- Abstain: 1 Morgan Wheeler
- Absent: 3 Nicholas Lind, Eric Rock and Alan Tolkoff

PROGRESS UPDATES, ACCOMPLISHMENTS & NEXT STEPS FROM SUSTAINABLE CITY STAFF

Larry Rich, Sustainable City Coordinator, spoke.

Britny Coker-Moen, Green Business Coordinator, spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Larry Rich, Sustainable City Coordinator, spoke.

COMMENTS & ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM SUSTAINABLE CITY COMMISSIONERS

Chair Coffee spoke.

Commissioner Bergeron-Birge spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Commissioner Gonzales spoke.

Commissioner Novak spoke.

Vice Chair Wheeler spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Commissioner Gaytan spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

Commissioner Skye spoke.

Chair Coffee spoke.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Coffee adjourned the meeting at 5:48 p.m.

NEXT REGULAR MEETING: Thursday, June 25, 2020 - 4:00 PM