# CITY OF LONG BEACH PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES

THURSDAY, MARCH 7, 2019
333 W. OCE/
COUNCIL CH/

Richard Lewis, Chair Mark Christoffels, Vice Chair Erick Verduzco-Vega, Commissioner



Ron Cruz, Commissioner Josh LaFarga, Commissioner Andy Perez, Commissioner Jane Templin, Commissioner

# FINISHED AGENDA AND MINUTES

# **CALL TO ORDER**

Chair Lewis called the meeting to order at 5:01 p.m.

# **ROLL CALL**

Commissioners Mark Christoffels, Ron Cruz, Josh LaFarga, Andy Perez, Jane Present: Templin, Richard Lewis and Erick Verduzco-Vega

Also present: Linda Tatum, Director of Development Services; Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager; Alexis Oropeza, Current Planning Officer; Taylor Anderson, Deputy City Attorney; Cuentin Jackson, Planner; Maryanne Cronin, Planner; Dionne Bearden, Secretary.

# **FLAG SALUTE**

Commissioner Cruz lead the flag salute.

#### **MINUTES**

19-012PL

Recommendation to receive and file the Planning Commission minutes of February 21, 2019.

A motion was made by Commissioner Perez, seconded by Commissioner Templin, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Mark Christoffels, Ron Cruz, Josh LaFarga, Andy Perez, Jane Templin, Richard Lewis and Erick Verduzco-Vega

#### **DIRECTOR'S REPORT**

Linda Tatum, Director of Development Services, spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, presented the Director's Report.

Chair Lewis spoke.

#### **SWEARING OF WITNESSES**

Do you solemnly swear or affirm that the evidence you shall give in this Planning Commission Meeting shall be the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth.

#### **REGULAR AGENDA**

#### 1. 19-013PL

Recommendation to determine the project is within the scope of the project previously analyzed as part of the Long Beach Municipal Urban Stormwater Treatment (LB-MUST) Project Initial Study/Mitigated Negative Declaration (IS/MND) (State Clearinghouse No. 2017071068) and warrants no further environmental review pursuant to CEQA Guidelines 15162;

and approve a Site Plan Review (SPR18-039) to construct a 9,680 square-foot stormwater treatment facility and associated piping and landscaping improvements at 901 De Forest Avenue in the Light Industrial (IL) Zone. (District 1)

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke and introduced Maryanne Cronin, Planner, who presented the staff report.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Commissioner Cruz spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

Alvin Papa, applicant, spoke.

Vice Chair Christoffels spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Vice Chair Christoffels and Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager.

Commissioner Verduzco-Vega spoke.

Alvin Papa, applicant, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Verduzco-Vega and Alvin Papa, applicant.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Alvin Papa, applicant, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Lewis and Alvin Papa, applicant.

Commissioner Templin spoke.

Alvin Papa, applicant, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Templin and Alvin Papa, applicant.

Chair Lewis spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner Templin, seconded by Commissioner Verduzco-Vega, to approve recommendation. The motion carried by the following vote:

**Yes:** 7 - Mark Christoffels, Ron Cruz, Josh LaFarga, Andy Perez, Jane Templin, Richard Lewis and Erick Verduzco-Vega

# 2. 19-014PL

Recommendation to accept Categorical Exemption CE-18-238 and approve a Conditional Use Permit (CUP18-031) for the operation of an establishment with on-site alcohol sales as a principal use within an existing 1,109 square-foot commercial tenant space, in conjunction with an Administrative Use Permit (AUP19-007) for joint-use parking located at 2222 E. Anaheim Street in the Community Pedestrian-Oriented (CCP) District (Council District 4).

Commissioner Verduzco-Vega recused himself.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, introduced Cuentin Jackson, Planner, who presented the staff report.

Commissioner Templin spoke.

Cuentin Jackson, Planner, spoke.

Commissioner Templin spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Templin and Cuentin Jackson, Planner.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

Commissioner Templin spoke.

Cuentin Jackson, Planner, spoke.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Commissioner Cruz spoke.

Cuentin Jackson, Planner, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Cruz and Cuentin Jackson, Planner.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Cruz and Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager.

Commissioner LaFarga spoke.

Cuentin Jackson, Planner, spoke.

Sophia Sandoval and Jim Ritson, applicants, spoke.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Jim Ritson, applicant, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Lewis and Jim Ritson.

Vice Chair Christoffels spoke.

Jim Ritson, applicant, spoke.

Chair Lewis spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Lewis and Jim Ritson.

Commissioner LaFarga exited.

Commissioner LaFarga returned.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Lewis and Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager.

Commissioner Perez spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

Commissioner Perez spoke.

Sophia Sandoval, applicant, spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Sophia Sandoval, applicant, spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Lewis and Sophia Sandoval and Jim Ritson, applicants.

Commissioner Cruz spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

Monorom Neth provided public comment.

Chair Lewis spoke.

Cuentin Jackson, Planner, spoke.

Commissioner Perez spoke.

Christopher Koontz, Planning Bureau Manager, spoke.

Chair Lewis spoke.

A motion was made by Commissioner Perez, seconded by Chair Lewis, to approve recommendation with revisions to condition numbers 5, 8, 16 and 21. The motion carried by the following vote:

**Yes:** 6 - Mark Christoffels, Ron Cruz, Josh LaFarga, Andy Perez, Jane Templin and Richard Lewis

Recused: 1 - Erick Verduzco-Vega

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION: Members of the public are invited to address the Planning Commission on items of interest to the public within the Commission's jurisdiction. Each speaker will be limited to three minutes unless that time is extended by the Chair.

Ray Lawson, provided public comment.

#### COMMENTS FROM THE PLANNING COMMISSION

Commissioner Templin spoke.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

At 6:16 p.m., Chair Lewis adjourned the meeting.

NEXT REGULAR MEETING: March 21, 2019 - 5:00 p.m.

DB

THURSDAY, MARCH 7, 2019 333 W. OCEAN BOULEVARD COUNCIL CHAMBER, 5:00 PM

### NOTE:

If written language translation of the Commission agenda and minutes for non-English speaking persons is desired, please make your request by phone to the Office of the City Clerk at (562) 570-6101, 72 business hours prior to the Commission meeting.

Kung nais ang pagsasalin ng nakasulat na wika ng agenda ng Komisyon at ang minutes para sa mga taong hindi nagsasalita ng Ingles, mangyaring isagawa ang iyong hiling sa pamamagitan ng telepono sa Opisina ng Clerk ng Lungsod sa (562) 570-6101, 72 oras ng negosyo bago ang pagpupulong ng Commission.

Si desea obtener la traducción escrita en otro idioma de la agenda y actas de la comisión para personas que no hablan inglés, haga su solicitud por teléfono a la Oficina de la Secretaría Municipal al (562) 570-6101, 72 horas hábiles antes de la reunión de la comisión.

បើមានការចង់បានឲ្យមានការបកប្រែឯកសារស្ដីពីរបៀបវារៈ និងកំណត់ហេតុឲ្យ អ្នកឌែលមិនចេះនិយាយអង់គ្លេស សូមមេត្ដាធ្វើសំណើរអ្នកតាមទូរស័ព្ទខោយហៅ ការិយាល័យស្ពៀនក្រុងតាមរយៈលេខ (562) 570-6101 (72 ម៉ោងធ្វើការមុននឹង ចាប់ផ្ដើមបើកកិច្ចប្រងុំគណកម្មការធម្មនុញ្ញ)។