CITY OF LONG BEACH TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION COMMISSION MINUTES

THURSDAY, JULY 26, 2018 THE GUIDANCE CENTER 1301 PINE AVE LONG BEACH, CA 90813, 5:00 PM

Robb Korinke, Chair Lisa Mae Brunson, Commissioner David W. Ferrell, Commissioner



Justin Hectus, Commissioner Evan Marquardt, Commissioner Gwen Shaffer, Commissioner Parisa Vinzant, Commissioner

SPECIAL MEETING

FINISHED AGENDA & DRAFT MINUTES

SPECIAL MEETING (5:07 P.M.)

ROLL CALL (5:08 P.M.)

Commissioners David Ferrell, Justin Hectus, Evan Marquardt, Gwen Shaffer, **Present:** Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke

Commissioners Lisa Mae Brunson Absent:

Also present: Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation, Lauren Vargas, Director of Innovation for Mayor Rober Garcia, and Deborah Hill, Secretary.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT (5:09 P.M.)

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation, spoke.

Chair Korinke spoke.

1. 18-022TI Recommendation to receive and file oral updates from each Commissioner regarding their outreach to constituents regarding the Digital Divide Survey.

Commissioner Shaffer spoke.

Chair Korinke spoke.

Commissioner Marquardt spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Hectus and Chair Korinke.

Commissioner Shaffer spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Hectus and Commissioner Vinzant.

Chair Korinke spoke.

A motion was made by Chair Korinke, seconded by Commissioner Shaffer, to approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 6 David Ferrell, Justin Hectus, Evan Marquardt, Gwen Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke
- Absent: 1 Lisa Mae Brunson
- **2.** 18-023TI Recommendation to review and discuss the preliminary results of the Digital Inclusion survey.

Chair Kornike spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

Commissioner Shaffer spoke.

Chair Korinke spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

Commissioner Shaffer spoke.

Chair Korinke spoke.

Commissioner Shaffer spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Lea Eriksen, Directof of Technology & Innovation and Chair Korinke.

Commissioner Shaffer spoke.

Commissioner Vinzant spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

Commissioner Hectus spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Shaffer, Commissioner Hectus, and Chair Korinke.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

Commissioner Vinzant spoke.

Chair Kornike spoke.

Lauren Vargas, Innovation Director for Mayor Rober Garcia spoke.

A motion was made by Chair Korinke, seconded by Commissioner Shaffer, to approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 6 David Ferrell, Justin Hectus, Evan Marquardt, Gwen Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke
- Absent: 1 Lisa Mae Brunson
- **3.** 18-024TI Recommendation to discuss potential survey forums, study session, and roundtable opportunities regarding the Digital Divide and Digital Inclusion efforts within the City of Long Beach.

Chair Korinke spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Commissioner Vinzant, Chair Korinke and Commissioner Shaffer.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

Commissioner Vinzant spoke.

Commissioner Shaffer spoke.

Lauren Vargas, Innovation Director for Mayor Robert Garcia spoke.

A dialogue ensured between, Chair Korinke and Lauren Vargas, Innovation Director for Mayor Robert Garcia.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

Chair Korinke spoke.

Commissioner Marquardt spoke.

Commissioner Ferrell spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

Chair Korinke spoke.

Lauren Vargas, Innovation Director for Mayor Robert Garcia spoke.

Commissioner Shaffer spoke.

Commissioner Ferrell spoke.

Lauren Vargas, Innovation Director for Mayor Robert Garcia spoke.

Commissioner Hectus spoke.

Chair Korinke spoke.

Commissioner Vinzant spoke.

Chair Korinke spoke.

Lauren Vargas, Innovation Director for Mayor Robert Garcia spoke.

Commissioner Ferrell spoke.

A dialogue ensued between Chair Korinke and Lauren Vargas, Innovation Director for Mayor Robert Garcia.

Commissioner Ferrell spoke.

Chair Korinke spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

Commissioner Shaffer spoke.

Lea Eriksen, Director of Technology & Innovation spoke.

A motion was made by Chair Korinke, seconded by Commissioner Shaffer, to approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

- **Yes:** 6 David Ferrell, Justin Hectus, Evan Marquardt, Gwen Shaffer, Parisa Vinzant and Robb Korinke
- Absent: 1 Lisa Mae Brunson

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION: Members of the public are invited to address the Board on items o interest to the public within the Agency Board jurisdiction. Each speaker will be limited to two minutes unless that time is extended by the Chair.

ADJOURNMENT (5:40 P.M.)